• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Upgrade to ICE or stick with Honeycomb

This is a discussion on Upgrade to ICE or stick with Honeycomb within the ICS General Discussion forums, part of the Motorola Xoom ICS Forum category; I'm not a techie, nor do I desire the newest and greatest. So, my Xoom tells me that I can upgrade to ICE Cream, but ...

Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Upgrade to ICE or stick with Honeycomb

I'm not a techie, nor do I desire the newest and greatest. So, my Xoom tells me that I can upgrade to ICE Cream, but I'm always afraid that in doing so I'll cause myself a huge headache. So, is there a distinct advantage to ICS that would warrant the risk?

Thanks

2. # ADS
    Ads

Xoom Operative
    Member #
    Liked
    36 times
    for the love of franklin upgrade to anything and get rid of that decrepid old honeycomb. any later version of android is immensely better than hc... (my suggestion would be eos3 (based on jb 4.1.2)) if it's an ota update you have nothing to fear from going to ics. and since it's not the latest and greatest version of android most (if not all by now) apps are compatible with ics.

Try my modified ics boot animation here! <<< click (works with jb too!)

new!>Try my EOS fan boot animation here! <<< click
    if someone helped you, press the "like" button

Rescue Squad

Member #
    Liked
    126 times
    i was the same.Boy I hated ICS at first. you look hard you can even find a thread i started called 'hate ICS, reinstalling honeycomb'

since then ive learned a few tricks, and feature wise, ICS is much better than honeycomb. not to mention play store apps.