• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

[Xoom 2 media edition] GPS stopped working

This is a discussion on [Xoom 2 media edition] GPS stopped working within the Motorola Xoom 2 forums, part of the Motorola Xoom 2 Forum category; Just returned from vacation, to which I brought my Xoom2 Media Edition as a backup to the navigation system I have in my car. I ...

Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By luke.arran

Thread: [Xoom 2 media edition] GPS stopped working

  1. #1
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    23679
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    8 times

    [Xoom 2 media edition] GPS stopped working

    Just returned from vacation, to which I brought my Xoom2 Media Edition as a backup to the navigation system I have in my car. I succesfully used the Xoom as a navigation tool (using Sygic Aura) in the past, but I've since rooted the machine and never thought it would wreck anything. As it turns out, the GPS receiver now is dead. I can see NMEA sentences from the unit in the logfiles, but no satellites are ever seen anymore.

    I tried clearing the cache, I tried factory reset, all to no avail. Since the unit seems to answer, I don't think the hardware is broken. Anyone have any suggestions to fix this?
    Motorola Xoom 2 Media Edition / Point of View Mobii TEGRA2 / HTC Hero - in general, Android nut

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator

    Member #
    11318
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    7,340
    Liked
    729 times
    Twitter
    It's a bird
    Im not so sure about GPS.

    There is discussion about it. Hope you can get some info or someone will assist you soon : GPS sees no satelites

    Hope you get it fix soon.

  4. #3
    Xoom Ninja
    Member #
    22220
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Posts
    4,194
    Liked
    81 times
    Twitter
    Ben_J_H
    Ok I don't use GPS but it doesn't work half the time You can try faster GPS

  5. #4
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    19644
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    46
    Liked
    15 times
    Rooting your Xoom won't "wreck" your GPS unless you deleted or played with some GPS system files. When you use a GPS app do you get that annoying GPS icon in the notification bay?
    Ben_J_H likes this.
    My Devices-
    HTC ChaCha - Running Rooted CyanogenMod 9 by adlx
    Samsung Galaxy Spica - Rooted CyanogenMod 9

    My ROM's-

    HTC ChaCha MIUI Port

    Wondering what I been up too? Check my GitHub profile.


  6. #5
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    23679
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    8 times
    Thanks guys, the problem I was seeing looked very much like the one in mentioned thread. One exception: a factory reset didn't help. A second one actually did, so it's a bit of a mis-and-hit.
    Motorola Xoom 2 Media Edition / Point of View Mobii TEGRA2 / HTC Hero - in general, Android nut

  7. #6
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    31301
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times

    GPS Reset

    I have not found another work around for this. I have this same issue from time to time and only a factory reset would clear the issue. I dug into it just a little this last time and here's what worked for me. I'm on a rooted MZ607 Xoom 2 Media Edition xoom2me device. I test with the "GPS Test" app and it shows no GPS satellites. Turning GPS off and back on in Location Services does nothing. Only WiFi positioning works. Reboot does nothing. Same state. Here's the shorter work around:


    1. rename /data/location to /data/location.old
    2. reboot device
    3. remove old /data/location.old


    Now GPS Test will find satellites again! The first time you will have to wait some time to get your GPS lock.

    There's probably a less blunt approach to this, but this works. The daemon TIDrv seems to be doing the work of talking to the GPS hardware. I'm not sure what causes the failure, but removing the files in /data/location/* causes it to reset like a factory reset does. These steps only work if you have root access. If you don't have root, a factory reset will wipe everything in /data which includes /data/location but it also includes /data/media which is the entire contents of the virtual /mnt/sdcard so internal backups would be lost too.
    Last edited by TimRiker; 04-12-2015 at 09:25 PM.


 

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Xoom 2 Media Edition evaluation
    By F6DFZ in forum Motorola Xoom 2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-09-2012, 08:46 AM
  2. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 02:39 PM
  3. Motorola Officially Xoom 2 and Xoom 2 Media Edition Press Release
    By dgstorm in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2011, 12:40 PM
  4. New Pics of the Moto Xoom 2 and Xoom 2 Media Edition Emerge
    By dgstorm in forum Motorola Xoom News
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 11:58 AM
  5. WIFI Xoom Accelerometer stopped working
    By atrain6118 in forum Motorola Xoom Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 01:08 PM

Search tags for this page

android gps stopped

,

cyanogen xoom 2

,
cyanogen xoom2 media edition
,

cyanogenmod 9 gps not working

,

cyanogenmod motorola xoom 2 media edition

,

cyanogenmod xoom 2

,
cyanogenmode motorola xoom 2 media
,
disassemble motorola xoom 2
,
gps dont work xoom 2
,
gps not working cyanogenmod 9
,

motorola xoom 2 gps

,
motorola xoom 2 gps not working
,

motorola xoom 2 media edition cyanogenmod

,
motorola xoom2 suddenly stopped working
,
problem gps xoom 2
,

xoom 2 cyanogemod

,

xoom 2 gps

,
xoom 2 media edition agps
,

xoom 2 media edition gps problema

,
xoom2 cyanogenmod
Click on a term to search for related topics.