• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

How to enter the Xoom programing and assign numbers

This is a discussion on How to enter the Xoom programing and assign numbers within the Motorola Xoom FAQ forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Help category; This was a solution posted in my other thread, but this may help others who may not be in a 3G area (or a 4G ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times

    How to enter the Xoom programing and assign numbers

    This was a solution posted in my other thread, but this may help others who may not be in a 3G area (or a 4G area following the lte upgrade, or if your area is scheduled for 4G, but it isnt yet active), and/or want to be able to set their Xoom to use a Verizon number without the hassle of having to take your xoom into a Verizon store, etc.

    I can see someone say with another Verizon device, wanting to port their number to the Xoom...perhaps this will work with assigning the number to a new device.

    get a data plan, program your own Xoom

    this also may have other uses, but I havent yet gone that far with its programing access potential...

    note- you can release buttons when you see 'powering on bp'

    push power button, then hold volume up/then hold volume down (make sure you are still holding the other buttons in)

    open "apps"

    open "field utils"

    enter spc pass= 000000

    user activation

    then change the following:
    min/mdn= your 10 digit number
    cdma sys id= 18

    hit back arrow twice to app screen. Xoom with reboot

    Done
    Last edited by rive; 10-22-2012 at 11:13 PM.

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    608
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    EARTH
    Posts
    14,459
    Liked
    284 times
    this should be a how to sticky.

  4. #3
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    2669
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    I'm trying to do this but the tablet just reboots when i hold down all 3 button in the order you mentioned. Whay am I missing?

  5. #4
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by lachiodo View Post
    I'm trying to do this but the tablet just reboots when i hold down all 3 button in the order you mentioned. Whay am I missing?
    hold power, then with another finger push in volume up, then with yet another finger push in volume down- so that all three are held in. you have to do this sequence quickly, and you will know if you did it right. hold all three in until restart. text will scroll top left. then youll see the utility app in apps.

    one power, two volume up, three volume down, about a sec inbetween
    Last edited by rive; 10-13-2011 at 06:35 PM. Reason: corrected mistakes

  6. #5
    Super Moderator

    Member #
    4076
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,415
    Liked
    283 times
    Twitter
    fish1552
    I had to laugh a bit. I did this on my wifi Xoom (the Linux cold boot) and the second line read: "LTE: turned off". Well, hey! At least I know I can just turn it on! LOL

    No app stuff though, just a reboot in the end. Might be what the 3.2.1/2 did to the boot process.
    What is rooting: the advantages/disadvantages | Set-up ADB | Need Help? Post Here | ADB Commands for Newcomers | Boot Animation Requests
    Remember to post the solution that worked to solve your problem so you can help others with their problems later.








  7. #6
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    10880
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    47
    Liked
    0 times
    just tried this had the text scroll in the left but no utility app

  8. #7
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jj71787 View Post
    just tried this had the text scroll in the left but no utility app
    if the text scrolled correctly the utility app will be located under apps once you log in/unlock xoom. if you dont see the app with the motorola icon, then it sounds like you may have just rebooted

    "Powering on BP" should be the first line of text



    the 'field utils' app is a orange circle with black moto 'M'
    Last edited by rive; 10-15-2011 at 12:01 AM.

  9. #8
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    10880
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    47
    Liked
    0 times
    ok I found it must of just skipped over it. I followed the steps put in my number and sys is 18 and rebooted. do i just try to log into a verizon account with my number now?

  10. #9
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    all you did is program the xoom. it now has internet access via wireless. if you have lte, you need to contact verizon and have them add the sim #/meid for the device tied to the number you programmed into the xoom, then your good to go.

    if this number isnt assigned to your xoom you still will need to contact verizon and have it associated with the xoom's meid.

    further note- if your not in a 3g/4g area, be sure to enable the roaming option
    Last edited by rive; 10-15-2011 at 12:49 AM.

  11. #10
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    10880
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    47
    Liked
    0 times
    ok thank you


 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. how to enter APN settings, no APN tab ???
    By karaoke4u2 in forum Motorola Xoom Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-26-2012, 08:42 AM
  2. how to enter APN settings, no APN tab ???
    By karaoke4u2 in forum Motorola Xoom Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-2012, 04:38 AM
  3. How to manually assign an ip address?
    By AndroidBaby in forum Motorola Xoom WiFi Tablet Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-04-2011, 12:54 PM
  4. Actions on phone numbers
    By compupane in forum Motorola Xoom Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2011, 07:22 AM
  5. Finding Customer Service Numbers
    By Kamau in forum Off-Topic Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 09:21 AM

Search tags for this page

enter meid for atrix 2
,
find phone number on motorola xoom
,
finding number assigned to a xoom tablet
,
how do i find phone number of my motorola xoom
,
how find phone number of xoom
,
how to find out phone number assigned to tablet
,

how to find phone number on xoom

,

how to find xoom phone number

,
how to fjnd number assigned to zoom pad
,
manually activating verizon xoom
,
manually program your number ( mdn/mid) into the xoom
,
mdn number in xoom 2
,
motorola field utilities app
,
motorola xoom cdma program
,
motorola xoom phone number
,
no mdn in xoom 2 status
,
xoom meid test device
,

xoom phone number

,
xoom telephone number
,
xoom verizon how to discover phone number
Click on a term to search for related topics.