• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

so who is using the xoom's barometer to check the weather?

This is a discussion on so who is using the xoom's barometer to check the weather? within the Motorola Xoom General Discussion forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Forum category; I've had my Xoom since March. Barometer HD worked great until I received an update to it. Then it didn't work. It's stuck on 25.34xxxx ...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: so who is using the xoom's barometer to check the weather?

  1. #11
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    1300
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    I've had my Xoom since March. Barometer HD worked great until I received an update to it. Then it didn't work. It's stuck on 25.34xxxx inHg (inches of Mercury, where xxxx fluctuates).

    I thought the update broke it, but the author says nope. His stopped working after a jet flight, but worked OK after he landed.

    I went down to the Verizon store and we loaded Barometer HD onto the floor model. Exact same behavior as mine.

    Every once in a while (like just now) I install it and check it out, but it still doesn't work.

    Dave

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #12
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    its working just right for me, and i even compared its inHg reading with online weather services for my zip code. its pretty close.
    Last edited by rive; 10-15-2011 at 11:56 PM.

  4. #13
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    2705
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    76
    Liked
    5 times
    This s so cool. I can't believe I didn't know about this function.....
    Last edited by fish1552; 10-16-2011 at 01:48 AM.

  5. #14
    Super Moderator

    Member #
    4076
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Savannah area of Coastal Georgia, USA
    Posts
    2,415
    Liked
    283 times
    Twitter
    fish1552
    Quote Originally Posted by Ollie View Post
    No, I sure don't. Someone wrote an app and posted it there quite a while back.
    I just spent a good 15 minutes or so searching the forums over there and didn't have any luck either. One guy "alphabetaone" appeared to be working on a barometer app, but I wasn't able to find a post where he was offering it, nor did he have it listed as a project. Oh well.

    Supposedly though, the WeatherBug app *will* read the internal barometer instead of pulling it from online. *That* was mentioned time and time again over there.
    What is rooting: the advantages/disadvantages | Set-up ADB | Need Help? Post Here | ADB Commands for Newcomers | Boot Animation Requests
    Remember to post the solution that worked to solve your problem so you can help others with their problems later.








  6. #15
    Supporting Member
    Member #
    11010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    277
    Liked
    11 times
    Does not do kPa not interested.

  7. #16
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Technician View Post
    Does not do kPa not interested.
    No, it does hPa instead

    100 kPa= 29.53 inHg
    or 1 kPa = 0.295333727 inHg

    it also has digital readouts for hPa

    0.10 kPa = 1 hPa ( a kPa is one tenth of a hPa)

    to get kPa, take the digital hPa reading, divide by 10, or simply move decimal point to the left

    simple math, simple conversion . my 5 year old can move the decimal point to get kPa
    Last edited by rive; 10-16-2011 at 02:04 PM.

  8. #17
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    1672
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    153
    Liked
    13 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Necron99 View Post
    I've had my Xoom since March. Barometer HD worked great until I received an update to it. Then it didn't work. It's stuck on 25.34xxxx inHg (inches of Mercury, where xxxx fluctuates).

    I thought the update broke it, but the author says nope. His stopped working after a jet flight, but worked OK after he landed.

    I went down to the Verizon store and we loaded Barometer HD onto the floor model. Exact same behavior as mine.

    Every once in a while (like just now) I install it and check it out, but it still doesn't work.

    Dave
    LOL! I'm having the same issue. I did not realize it was broken until I read your post. The options button no longer works too. I shall give it a bad rating then uninstall.

  9. #18
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    im sorry it doesnt seem to work for you guys, but it works fine for me- except options box. i have recorded readings, and it moves and changes just like it should as the pressures change.

    for example my recorded is:

    hPa= 986.179993
    ( or kPa) = 98.617993

    inHg = 29.121876

    new current readings are in constant flux, but est current is:

    hPa = 991.92993

    kPa = 99.19299

    inHg = ( est) 29.263914
    Last edited by rive; 10-17-2011 at 12:55 PM.

  10. #19
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    14497
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    1 times
    I D/L ed it and it looks pretty neat. Haven't the slightest clue as to how it works, nor how to read it. Nice that it uses the barometer on my Xoom... just wish I knew what it was saying.


 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. XOOM rooted, check, OTG cable, check, now how to get internet thru it ?
    By Mobidoy in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-04-2011, 06:59 PM
  2. Xoom Has Barometer?
    By Kamau in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 09:42 AM
  3. Xoom barometer
    By Necron99 in forum Motorola Xoom Apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 02:32 AM
  4. Barometer HD for Xoom
    By Snowman347 in forum Motorola Xoom Apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-08-2011, 08:10 PM
  5. Xoom barometer
    By Tommy53 in forum Motorola Xoom Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-12-2011, 09:41 PM

Search tags for this page

barometer chart
,
barometer hd
,
best weather app for motorola xoom
,
best weather app for xoom
,
does the xoom family edition have a barometer
,
how a barometer works
,
motorola xoom barometer
,
motorola xoom barometer app
,
the best barometer app for xoom
,
what does a barometer measure?
,
xoom 2
,
xoom 2 barometer
,
xoom baroeter
,

xoom barometer

,

xoom barometer app

,
xoom barometer under reading.
,
xoom barometer weather app
,
xoom have barometer
,
xoom weather app
,
xoom weather readings
Click on a term to search for related topics.