• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

GPS sees no satelites

This is a discussion on GPS sees no satelites within the Motorola Xoom General Discussion forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Forum category; g2c in settings it uses 2 things to triagulate wireless networks gps turn off location for wireless networks, leave gps checked, ropen maps...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    g2c

    in settings it uses 2 things to triagulate
    wireless networks
    gps

    turn off location for wireless networks, leave gps checked, ropen maps

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #12
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    you never answered, is your device wifi only?

  4. #13
    Supporting Member
    Member #
    552
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Summerville SC
    Posts
    1,194
    Liked
    109 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rive View Post
    g2c

    in settings it uses 2 things to triagulate
    wireless networks
    gps

    turn off location for wireless networks, leave gps checked, ropen maps
    also you can tap the little gps icon that should be in the tray and it will tell you how it did the location. mine says Location set by GPS
    Xoom 4G/ Verizon
    Team EOS Jelly Bean Nightlies Rock!

  5. #14
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    18322
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    qq part su'le périph de la Voie Lactée
    Posts
    66
    Liked
    1 times
    I did not understand what was made of lead nor JK: you can not be talking of a JK flip plop inside the GPS chip i guess

    What have changed? Well the whether and the visibility but the GPS in not looking for wavelength in the visible spectrum so how would I know?.

    Now you are suggesting the a reset may resolve the problem so yes. It's worthwhile: what is the risk? at worse i'll have to purchase again some apps w/o the issue being fixed, at best I'll have my tab working again.

    Have i forgotten something in this analysis? If we agree, could you tell how do you do the factory reset?

  6. #15
    Administrator

    Member #
    2101
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita Falls
    Posts
    35,844
    Liked
    2223 times
    Twitter
    mgrant76308
    You will not have to repurchase any apps you have paid for, they will be available for redownload when you sign back into your google account.



    Note 10 Plus
    OnePlus 6T


  7. #16
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    18322
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    qq part su'le périph de la Voie Lactée
    Posts
    66
    Liked
    1 times
    Well if so I'll do the deadly / resuscitating reset as soon as i know how but first i'll go to bed - exhausted

  8. #17
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    12835
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,393
    Liked
    126 times
    Quote Originally Posted by g2c View Post
    Well if so I'll do the deadly / resuscitating reset as soon as i know how but first i'll go to bed - exhausted
    is your device wifi only

  9. #18
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    18322
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    qq part su'le périph de la Voie Lactée
    Posts
    66
    Liked
    1 times
    yes, it is wifi only

  10. #19
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    18322
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    qq part su'le périph de la Voie Lactée
    Posts
    66
    Liked
    1 times
    and it's got Android 3.2

  11. #20
    Supporting Member
    Member #
    552
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Summerville SC
    Posts
    1,194
    Liked
    109 times
    Quote Originally Posted by g2c View Post
    I did not understand what was made of lead nor JK: you can not be talking of a JK flip plop inside the GPS chip i guess

    What have changed? Well the whether and the visibility but the GPS in not looking for wavelength in the visible spectrum so how would I know?.

    Now you are suggesting the a reset may resolve the problem so yes. It's worthwhile: what is the risk? at worse i'll have to purchase again some apps w/o the issue being fixed, at best I'll have my tab working again.

    Have i forgotten something in this analysis? If we agree, could you tell how do you do the factory reset?
    JK=just kidding. Bad joke. Anyway just to confirm under settings, privacy you should see two boxes checked for backing up your data. That way you should get any of your apps back for free when you get done with your reset. Also under settings, location and security you should have use gps for location checked. You can also connect your xoom to your pc and copy the /mnt/sdcard directory to your pc. When you are done you can copy them back and get most of your thimg such as pictures etc back. To reset you can go to settings, privacy and there should be a Factory data reset button there. It will delete all your stuff and return your xoom to a clean state. It will still be at whatever version you had though so you wont have to do upgrades.
    Xoom 4G/ Verizon
    Team EOS Jelly Bean Nightlies Rock!


 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Google video only sees mp4 Help!
    By saninocencioj in forum Motorola Xoom Video
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-15-2012, 11:38 AM
  2. PowerAmp no longer sees mnt/external1
    By hchxoom in forum Motorola Xoom Audio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 03:39 PM
  3. After 3.2 update, my desktop computer no longer sees xoom files
    By jen in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 08:04 PM
  4. Motorola Xoom sees Android 3.2 update, FCC-approved LTE module
    By jaless in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 06:11 AM

Search tags for this page

droid incredible 2 not obtaining gps satellites
,
galaxy nexus jelly bean gps no satellites
,
gps module stops seeing satellites
,
gps no satellites toshiba thrive
,

how do you fix a motorola xoom gps problem

,
how to start gps connectivity on motorola xoom
,
jelly bean g2c
,
motorola xoom 2 gps test
,
motorola xoom 2 gps wont connect
,

motorola xoom gps not working

,

motorola xoom gps problem

,

motorola xoom wont lock on satelites

,

toshiba thrive searching for gps

,

xoom 2 gps problem

,
xoom 2 gps stops workimg
,
xoom gps no fix
,

xoom gps not working

,
xoom jelly bean no longer sees mnt external1
,

xoom searching for gps

,
xoom2 gps problems
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread