• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

internet "about:debug" change browsers user agent string to desktop

This is a discussion on internet "about:debug" change browsers user agent string to desktop within the Motorola Xoom General Discussion forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Forum category; Once you type it in hit enter nothing will happen go into the browser settings top'right of the browser hit settings and debug will be ...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 79
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: internet "about:debug" change browsers user agent string to desktop

  1. #31
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    187
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    237
    Liked
    11 times
    Twitter
    binglut9
    Once you type it in hit enter nothing will happen go into the browser settings top'right of the browser hit settings and debug will be in there

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #32
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    256
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Balaton, MN
    Posts
    123
    Liked
    5 times
    Twitter
    theGRAVYBIRD
    Quote Originally Posted by Buffalomadman View Post
    Once you type it in hit enter nothing will happen go into the browser settings top'right of the browser hit settings and debug will be in there
    Thank you for that! Worked like a charm:-)

  4. #33
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    388
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    136
    Liked
    7 times
    OK, I read every single post and of course mine is different than the pic posted and a totally different debug menu, mine has more options but none are the same as the pic.. Mine under debug says something about rendering, its a totally different menu without a more option or a desktop selection.. This is the only browser I have so not sure what is up.. Thanks for any help..

    Update: OK, guess I missed in the instructions to click on the UA String under the debug button.. Mine was set for I pad, I unchecked that and checked the desktop.. I see no difference in the browser, not sure I should though.. Thanks..
    Last edited by Sonny; 03-16-2011 at 01:34 PM.

  5. #34
    Technician X
    Member #
    792
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,065
    Liked
    174 times
    When we supposed to get an official fix for this?

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

  6. #35
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    1588
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    19
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by bobjenkins View Post
    When we supposed to get an official fix for this?

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
    This is something that is up to individual websites. The default UA String is intentionally set to "Android." Google has this designation in order to to distinguish it from "Android Mobile" which is the UA String for phones.

    Websites should (and if Android tablets take off, will) recognize the "Android" UA String as a tablet device.

    Until websites make that change, I find that setting it to iPad works best. For some reason some sites still serve up a mobile interface even when the UA String is set to desktop (Washingtonpost.com is one example).

  7. #36
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    1763
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    14
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    bencredible
    This is AWESOME! Thank you OP. Many of the sites I was going to would default to the mobile version. May need that on an iPad to get around Flash problems, but no need for that on my XOOM. Works great.
    Benjamin Higginbotham
    Executive Producer, Spacevidcast - Making Space Commonplace

  8. #37
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    1438
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times

    How to

    Open default browser
    Type in about:debug and press enter
    Nothing will happen, click on menu icon in top right
    choose settings
    Choose debug option
    Choose UAString
    A menu will appear - choose desktop
    xsteimelx likes this.

  9. #38
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    182
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Liked
    0 times
    There was an earlier post about this setting not "sticking". Every few days, I need to reset this to have sites recognize that this is not a mobile UA String. I have to switch to something other than desktop and back to get this to stick. Odd thing is that when the UAString list shows, desktop is selected.

  10. #39
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    1849
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    I did this but everytime I reboot and go back to the website, it takes me to the mobile one. i.e. San Francisco, Oakland & San Jose: Bay Area News, Weather & Traffic - KTVU California

  11. #40
    Super Moderator

    Member #
    11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,559
    Liked
    35 times
    The about:debug setting does not survive a reboot. Sorry.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt using Tapatalk.


 
+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. The Official "I Got My Xoom" Thread!!!
    By Quicksilver7714 in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 816
    Last Post: 05-07-2014, 04:01 PM
  2. "Guidelines of Conduct" for XoomForums.com
    By wicked in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-28-2012, 07:34 PM
  3. What applications do we need outside of "Google"?
    By bobfa in forum Motorola Xoom Apps
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 06:08 PM
  4. Wirefly Unboxes Motorola XOOM: "The Next Generation In Tablet"
    By wicked in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 12:23 AM
  5. Sanjay Jha confirms WiFi Only XOOM for US for "Around $600"!
    By ArrTooDeeToo in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 03:52 PM

Search tags for this page

abaut debug
,
abaut:debug
,
abou:debug
,
about : debug
,

about debug

,
about debug uastring
,
about,debug
,
about.debug
,
about/debug
,
about: debug
,

about:debug

,
about:debug and hit return
,
about;debug
,
aboutdebug
,
about?debug
,
debug and hit return
,
debug:about
,
what is about:debug
,
www.about:debug
,
www.about:debug.com
Click on a term to search for related topics.