• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Your advice deeply appreciated

This is a discussion on Your advice deeply appreciated within the Motorola Xoom General Discussion forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Forum category; Hi guys First of all, I am new to all this xoom thing, in fact I never heard about it except few hours back, when ...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times

Question Your advice deeply appreciated

Hi guys
    First of all, I am new to all this xoom thing, in fact I never heard about it except few hours back, when I started to think of buying either iPad 2 or playbook.
    I have been using iPhone since it was launched first time and I initially though I will be too familiar with iPad if I buy it.
    To make things clear, I am a medical student and I am preparing for my exam, I need a tablet to watch lectures, mostly from my hard drive, but sometimes could be a webcast streaming, also I need to read through different textbooks, mostly PDF format, in addition I work with Microsoft office, PowerPoint and excel.
    I initially loved the performance of playbook, but I quickly eliminated it from my count as the display is really small, and want be practical for me to watch lectures for at least four hours a day.
    Now, I am seriously thinking of xoom and I want to get it ASAP, but here my questions
    1- if the price is not an issue and the monthly package is not an issue too, which one will you buy? Wifi only or 3G/4G?
    2- if you think there is no difference and getting cheaper wifi is wise to save some bucks, then do you think it's possible to tether xoom wifi to your iPhone or blutooth it to other phone to be able to connect to the Internet on the go?