• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

[How To] Root the Motorola Xoom

This is a discussion on [How To] Root the Motorola Xoom within the Motorola Xoom Hacking Guides forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Hacks category; You need the motodev4.9.0 driver for the pc to see the phone. I have it on my pc somewhere so I'll find it and post ...

Page 2 of 29 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 284
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: [How To] Root the Motorola Xoom

  1. #11
    Administrator

    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    6,454
    Liked
    356 times
    Twitter
    Droid_Xer
    You need the motodev4.9.0 driver for the pc to see the phone. I have it on my pc somewhere so I'll find it and post it. That's probably all you're missing. I set up adb on ubuntu though cuz I couldn't get it on win 7 64. There's a site for the driver but you have to sign up. The link is dead on Motorolas site.

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #12
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    204
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    14
    Liked
    0 times
    Ah! Nice! So using this driver you have, I'll be able to do this via Ubuntu or can I do it from Windows too? I don't mind either, but Windows would be easiest since I already have adb installed.

  4. #13
    Administrator

    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    6,454
    Liked
    356 times
    Twitter
    Droid_Xer
    That should be all you need is the driver since you already have adb.

  5. #14
    Administrator

    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    6,454
    Liked
    356 times
    Twitter
    Droid_Xer
    Actually the link seems to be up again. Try it USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola Mobility, Inc. USA

  6. #15
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    204
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    14
    Liked
    0 times
    Installed the drivers, rebooted, than ran "adb reboot bootloader." Here is my new response:

    *daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device not found
    Not sure what I did wrong =\

  7. #16
    Administrator

    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    6,454
    Liked
    356 times
    Twitter
    Droid_Xer
    Hmm. Did you install the motoconnect driver also?

  8. #17
    Xoom Conveyor
    Member #
    121
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Petersburg, Virginia
    Posts
    269
    Liked
    14 times
    Please forgive me ignorance but do y'all plan to send your rooted Xoom to Motorola for the 4g upgrade? Or will y'all just unroot before sending? Is there any instructions on how to unroot the Xoom yet?

    Sent from my D1! But would rather send from a Xoom using Tapatalk!!!

  9. #18
    Administrator

    Member #
    7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    6,454
    Liked
    356 times
    Twitter
    Droid_Xer
    Well I don't plan on sending my xoom to anyone. I don't need the 4g. If I do then I'll update. As far as rooting you can always unroot using adb.

  10. #19
    Xoom Conveyor
    Member #
    121
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Petersburg, Virginia
    Posts
    269
    Liked
    14 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Droid-Xer View Post
    Well I don't plan on sending my xoom to anyone. I don't need the 4g. If I do then I'll update. As far as rooting you can always unroot using adb.
    Thank you for the clarification.

    Why would you not get the 4g that you paid for? Why would you date your device? Would it hold more value with the upgrade?



    Sent from my D1! But would rather send from a Xoom using Tapatalk!!!

  11. #20
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    204
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    14
    Liked
    0 times
    Is that on Moto's site? I searched for it but came up with nothing.

    Keepnitreel: I'm not bothering with the 4G upgrade because I have no desire to use Verizon's services. I bought it pretty much exclusively for the WiFi since a WiFi model is yet to be dated, but with the 4G program, I'd say at earliest of late summer. It just doesn't interest me.


 
Page 2 of 29 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

adb error device not found xoom
,

adb reboot bootloader device not found

,
adb reboot bootloader device not found xoom
,
adb reboot bootloader error device not found
,
adb xoom windows 8
,
command prompt xoom device not found
,

formatting uda

,
hack motorola xoom for prepaid
,

mirror1 kanged net motorola stingray xoom root

,
mirror1.kanged
,
mirror1.kanged.net
,
motorola s root
,
motorola uda
,
unlock motorola xoom to use on different carrier
,
xoom adb reboot bootloader device not found
,
xoom formating uda
,
xoom formatting uda
,
xoom root device not found
,
xoomroot zip
,

xoomroot.zip

Click on a term to search for related topics.