• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

[How To] Root the Motorola Xoom

This is a discussion on [How To] Root the Motorola Xoom within the Motorola Xoom Hacking Guides forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Hacks category; I did the root before but i'm not sure if i did it correctly since when i go into Superuser and it said new update ...

Page 27 of 29 FirstFirst ... 17 25 26 27 28 29 LastLast
Results 261 to 270 of 284
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: [How To] Root the Motorola Xoom

  1. #261
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    3063
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    140
    Liked
    9 times
    I did the root before but i'm not sure if i did it correctly since when i go into Superuser and it said new update on i guess Su latest version. So i click Ok to update but then it popup saying error and it save the zip file in the download folder. My question that still confuse me is. after extracting, do i copy the whole folder of "xoomroot" into Took folder? or I should just copy file inside the "xoomroot" folder and paste in Tool folder?
    here's an example:
    Inside Tool fold should be:
    -fastboot.exe
    -boot.img
    -su
    -Superuser.apk
    -bcmVold.fdtab
    -bcm4329.ko
    -cifs.ko
    -scsi_wait_scan.ko
    -tun.ko
    Or should be:
    Tool/xoomroot folder

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #262
    ATP
    ATP is offline
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    14 times
    I did the root before but i'm not sure if i did it correctly since when i go into Superuser and it said new update on i guess Su latest version. So i click Ok to update but then it popup saying error and it save the zip file in the download folder. My question that still confuse me is. after extracting, do i copy the whole folder of "xoomroot" into Took folder? or I should just copy file inside the "xoomroot" folder and paste in Tool folder?
    here's an example:


    Inside Tool fold should be:
    -fastboot.exe
    -boot.img
    -su
    -Superuser.apk
    -bcmVold.fdtab
    -bcm4329.ko
    -cifs.ko
    -scsi_wait_scan.ko
    -tun.ko



    Or should be:
    Tool/xoomroot folder


    I put everything in platfor-tools but if the tools folder worked fo you, thats fine. You should take everything out of the xoomroot folder and drop it into tools. Looks like adb isnt in there, but if it works, then you are good to go. I think you might have to grab all of the files in platform-tools and copy them over as well though. I bolded the correct answer. Technically, it can be run without extracting, but I think its easier to just extract to tools.
    Xoom Wifi - Rooted with Launchpad, OCd to 1.6Ghz with Droid Overclock.

  4. #263
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    144
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    851
    Liked
    80 times
    Twitter
    XoomFAQ
    There is no reason to put files in the sdk folders you can put them anywhere you want just setup the pathing correctly

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

  5. #264
    ATP
    ATP is offline
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    14 times
    There is no reason to put files in the sdk folders you can put them anywhere you want just setup the pathing correctly
    Not everyone, including myself, can set up the pathing correctly. I found it easy enough to throw the files into platform-tools. Then when I am done, delete them so I dont mix kernels.
    Xoom Wifi - Rooted with Launchpad, OCd to 1.6Ghz with Droid Overclock.

  6. #265
    Super Moderator

    Member #
    392
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5,489
    Liked
    522 times
    ROMs
    4 Submitted
    Quote Originally Posted by ATP View Post
    I found it easy enough to throw the files into platform-tools. Then when I am done, delete them so I dont mix kernels.
    Thats what I do with everything I push in ADB, it makes it easy to stay organised

  7. #266
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    3063
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    140
    Liked
    9 times
    Thank you all. what's a super fast reply. One more question: Something about Su being updated when I click on Superuser and when I click Ok to accept the update, it said i guess server error and then it save the zip file. Any1 had that update when u click on Superuser?

  8. #267
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    144
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    851
    Liked
    80 times
    Twitter
    XoomFAQ
    Quote Originally Posted by ATP View Post
    Not everyone, including myself, can set up the pathing correctly. I found it easy enough to throw the files into platform-tools. Then when I am done, delete them so I dont mix kernels.
    Try this

    add the current directory

  9. #268
    ATP
    ATP is offline
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    239
    Liked
    14 times
    Try this

    add the current directory
    Haha, I dont know how becasue my way works for me. I get that you can type a few less commands than me but my way works for me. With the way I am doing it, I know I wont screw it up. Since it works, I just leave it alone. Besides, with flashing via CWM, this is all old news anyways.
    Xoom Wifi - Rooted with Launchpad, OCd to 1.6Ghz with Droid Overclock.

  10. #269
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    144
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    851
    Liked
    80 times
    Twitter
    XoomFAQ
    I guess it just makes me crazy because it is so easy to do yet it alludes most people

    20 years of programming and working system tells me it is the 100% wrong way to do it.

  11. #270
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    1297
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Berkeley, UK
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    0 times
    Hi,

    I'm in the UK with a 3G Xoom. Will this unlock and root my Xoom? (I'd like to use the SD slot).
    I've seen comments that say US only.
    I'm new to this.

    Thanks,

    Steve.


 
Page 27 of 29 FirstFirst ... 17 25 26 27 28 29 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

adb error device not found xoom
,

adb reboot bootloader device not found

,
adb reboot bootloader device not found xoom
,
adb reboot bootloader error device not found
,
adb xoom windows 8
,
command prompt xoom device not found
,

formatting uda

,
hack motorola xoom for prepaid
,

mirror1 kanged net motorola stingray xoom root

,
mirror1.kanged
,
mirror1.kanged.net
,
motorola s root
,
motorola uda
,
unlock motorola xoom to use on different carrier
,
xoom adb reboot bootloader device not found
,
xoom formating uda
,
xoom formatting uda
,
xoom root device not found
,
xoomroot zip
,

xoomroot.zip

Click on a term to search for related topics.