• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Mount Data

This is a discussion on Mount Data within the Motorola Xoom Help forums, part of the Motorola Xoom Support Forum category; For some time now I haven't been able to mount data when I try to do things like a factory reset or wipe the dalvik ...

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Mount Data

  1. #1
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    15579
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    0 times

    Mount Data

    For some time now I haven't been able to mount data when I try to do things like a factory reset or wipe the dalvik cache. I get the message Unable to mount /data as shown in the picture below. Can anybody tell me how to fix this or what the purpose of mounting data, sd card, etc is? Thanks very much I greatly appreciate the help.
    Attached Images
    Wingray 4.2.1 EOS Build 174 + TWRP 2.3.3.0

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    1152
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Posts
    1,425
    Liked
    141 times

    Re: Mount Data

    You need to mount SD or data so it knows what you want it to read. Go to mounts, mount want you want and try again.

  4. #3
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    15579
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Castorshells View Post
    You need to mount SD or data so it knows what you want it to read. Go to mounts, mount want you want and try again.
    It won't even let me select mount data, how do I fix that? Thanks.
    Wingray 4.2.1 EOS Build 174 + TWRP 2.3.3.0

  5. #4
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    1152
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Posts
    1,425
    Liked
    141 times

    Re: Mount Data

    At the main menu of TWRP one of your options is Mount. Touch that, then mount external SD card box needs to be checked.

    If you don't have that option at all or its just not functioning right, redownload and reflash TWRP again. Make sure you are getting a good download by checking the md5 sum after you download it. Also, make sure you have the latest version of TWRP from xda on runandhide05's page.


    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1782235

  6. #5
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    15579
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Castorshells View Post
    At the main menu of TWRP one of your options is Mount. Touch that, then mount external SD card box needs to be checked.

    If you don't have that option at all or its just not functioning right, redownload and reflash TWRP again. Make sure you are getting a good download by checking the md5 sum after you download it. Also, make sure you have the latest version of TWRP from xda on runandhide05's page.


    [RECOVERY] TWRP 2.4.1.0 touch recovery [2012-12-19] - xda-developers

    I can't select mount data under settings. I redownloaded TWRP v2.4.1.0 and reinstalled it. I got the message
    Flashing new recovery....
    Done!
    Returning to old recovery... (what is up with this?)
    Undating partition details...
    E: Unable to mount '/data'

    I rebooted and tried to mount data again, no dice...Thoughts?? Thanks.
    Wingray 4.2.1 EOS Build 174 + TWRP 2.3.3.0

  7. #6
    Rescue Squad

    Member #
    1152
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Posts
    1,425
    Liked
    141 times

    Re: Mount Data

    Did you check the md5 sum to make sure it matched after you downloaded zip? You can also try pushing the recovery image with adb.

  8. #7
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    15579
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Castorshells View Post
    Did you check the md5 sum to make sure it matched after you downloaded zip? You can also try pushing the recovery image with adb.
    Hey I know its been a while, I kinda gave up on this, but yes the md5 sum was good and I tried pushing it through adb, that didn't work. Do you have any other ideas? Thanks.
    Wingray 4.2.1 EOS Build 174 + TWRP 2.3.3.0

  9. #8
    Xoom Informant
    Member #
    15579
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by usafpilot022 View Post
    Hey I know its been a while, I kinda gave up on this, but yes the md5 sum was good and I tried pushing it through adb, that didn't work. Do you have any other ideas? Thanks.
    Also, just to try and wipe TWRP so I could reinstall it, I flashed through adb CMW recovery 3.2.0.0, did a factory wipe/reset, wiped the cache partition, formatted /sdcard, /system and /cache. I still can't format /data or mount /data. I just getting errors.....
    Wingray 4.2.1 EOS Build 174 + TWRP 2.3.3.0

  10. #9
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    30691
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    Did you solve it?

    Quote Originally Posted by usafpilot022 View Post
    Also, just to try and wipe TWRP so I could reinstall it, I flashed through adb CMW recovery 3.2.0.0, did a factory wipe/reset, wiped the cache partition, formatted /sdcard, /system and /cache. I still can't format /data or mount /data. I just getting errors.....

    Hi, I have the same problem. Did you finally solve it?


 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Mount Data
    By usafpilot022 in forum Motorola Xoom WiFi Tablet Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 08:15 AM
  2. Changing the USB mount
    By fasteddie in forum Xoom Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2012, 08:06 PM
  3. Mount SD card in ICS
    By ZoomZoom in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-25-2012, 09:31 PM
  4. Tripod mount
    By lotus49 in forum Motorola Xoom Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 04:14 AM
  5. 32 gig sd card will not mount
    By xoom in forum Motorola Xoom General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2011, 12:36 PM

Search tags for this page

android not able to mount /data
,
e unable to mount /data
,
enable to mout data tw
,
enable to mout data ???????
,
how to fix wipe failed on twrp
,
how to mount data for twrp
,
htc one unable to mount data
,
twrp unable to mount
,

twrp unable to mount /data

,
twrp unable to mount cache
,

twrp unable to mount data

,

twrp won't mount data

,
unable to mount /cache ??? ??????
,

unable to mount /data twrp

,
unable to mount cache twrp
,
unable to mount data
,

unable to mount data twrp

,
unable to mount system twrp
,
what is twrp mount system?
,
xoom unable to mount /cache
Click on a term to search for related topics.