• Login:

Welcome to the Xoom Forum - Motorola Xoom Forum.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Cant' connect to wifi - and Xoom won't let me set it to static IP

This is a discussion on Cant' connect to wifi - and Xoom won't let me set it to static IP within the Motorola Xoom WiFi Tablet Help forums, part of the Motorola Xoom WiFi Only Forum category; Hi, hope someone can help. My Xoom was working great on my network, then I had to send the Xoom back b/c of h/ware problems. ...

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    24510
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times

    Cant' connect to wifi - and Xoom won't let me set it to static IP

    Hi, hope someone can help. My Xoom was working great on my network, then I had to send the Xoom back b/c of h/ware problems. Now I have it back, restored my apps etc., but I can't connect to my home wifi network.

    Running android 4.0.4. I go to Settings, Wifi, Modify, to set a static IP address but....I can't "save" the changes! Button grayed out. BTW this is a Verizon-branded Xoom.

    Rebooted router, rebooted Xoom. Wanted to follow suggestion in another post to set to static IP. Is this one of Verizon's tricks to get me to use more data? It works fine on the Verizon mobile network.

    I guess I'll call Verizon, but thought someone else may have had this problem too.
    thanks!

  2. # ADS
    Ads


  3. #2
    Administrator

    Member #
    2101
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita Falls
    Posts
    35,844
    Liked
    2223 times
    Twitter
    mgrant76308
    Quote Originally Posted by nojudge2000 View Post
    Hi, hope someone can help. My Xoom was working great on my network, then I had to send the Xoom back b/c of h/ware problems. Now I have it back, restored my apps etc., but I can't connect to my home wifi network.

    Running android 4.0.4. I go to Settings, Wifi, Modify, to set a static IP address but....I can't "save" the changes! Button grayed out. BTW this is a Verizon-branded Xoom.

    Rebooted router, rebooted Xoom. Wanted to follow suggestion in another post to set to static IP. Is this one of Verizon's tricks to get me to use more data? It works fine on the Verizon mobile network.

    I guess I'll call Verizon, but thought someone else may have had this problem too.
    thanks!
    Welcome to the forum. Glad you decided to join us. This was written by one of our members, gman, on another thread - see if it helps.

    If you are running 802.11n on your router you have to run WPA2/AES. If you run WPA or WPA2/TKIP the xoom will drop will try to drop back to 802.11b/g per the standard. Enabling WEP on 802.11n router basically disables 802.11n as it blocks out all the higher transfer rates on compliant routers. Most problems are caused by people who have draft N routers at home that allow combinations of settings that aren't valid under final N spec. As router will try to negotiate higher transfer rates that a compliant device will refuse to use under the standard which causes signal drop outs for compliant devices. Best settings for 2.4ghz for max compliance is 802.11n, WPA2/AES, 20Mhz channels, WMM Enabled. For highest throughput run pure N mode and not B+G+N mode or run G+N mode on your router.



    Note 10 Plus
    OnePlus 6T


  4. #3
    Xoom Lurker
    Member #
    24510
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    0 times
    I checked (what an informative post! thanks) --- yep, I'm on WPA2 AES, 802.11n. Can you think of something else to try? This is definitely on the right track b/c the Xoom does see my network. grrr. thanks.

  5. #4
    Administrator

    Member #
    2101
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wichita Falls
    Posts
    35,844
    Liked
    2223 times
    Twitter
    mgrant76308
    Quote Originally Posted by nojudge2000 View Post
    I checked (what an informative post! thanks) --- yep, I'm on WPA2 AES, 802.11n. Can you think of something else to try? This is definitely on the right track b/c the Xoom does see my network. grrr. thanks.
    We had some members that had sucess when they checked and updated their routers software. Can it connect to wifi away from your home?



    Note 10 Plus
    OnePlus 6T


  6. #5
    Xoom Operative
    Member #
    18746
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    136
    Liked
    10 times
    I thought I had the same problem too. Turned out that the net mask value wasn't set even though it looks like it is. The digits that seem to be in the net mask field are a recommended value and are 'ghosted' . If you select the field and enter the value (usually 24) then see if the Save button is enabled. If that isn't the cure then maybe another field has the same issue.
    Annoying signature, but not as annoying as yours


 

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Xoom wont connect to wifi
    By nicky82 in forum Motorola Xoom Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-16-2012, 09:14 PM
  2. Can xoom wifi only connect to internet using broadband dongle?
    By tonyslim in forum Motorola Xoom Accessories
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-21-2012, 09:14 PM
  3. Can't connect Xoom to my wifi (FIOS router)
    By brettcw in forum Motorola Xoom WiFi Tablet Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-02-2011, 08:40 PM
  4. PLEASE HELPS! Xoom Wifi not able to connect!
    By dadonmega9 in forum Xoom Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2011, 06:17 PM
  5. Connect Freedom Keyboard Pro with Xoom WiFi Only
    By jsprings in forum Motorola Xoom Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 08:29 PM

Search tags for this page

andriod wont let me change ip adress
,
android phone can't set static ip
,
android wont let me save static ip
,
android.4.0.4 static.ip.address aetting.of.wifi
,
cant connect with my motorola on my wi fi
,
cant save ip address on android
,
how to put static ip for wifi on galaxy tab 4.0.4
,
jedi elite note 3 wont save wifi
,
motorola tablet won't connect to wifi networks away from home
,
motorola xoom can't android version 4.0.4 connect to wifi
,
motorola xoom wont connect to wifi
,
my android tablet wont connect to wifi even with a static ip address
,
my motorola xoom wont connect to the internet
,
my xoom wont connect to wifi
,
network won't let me change to static ip
,
why wont my htc amaze let me change to static ip
,
wont let me enter static ip
,
xoom connect button
,
xoom tablet not connecting to wifi
,

xoom wont connect to wifi

Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread